October 30, 2014

  • Easy Bacon Peach Cobbler

    So, the annual Bring It With Bacon Party that my friend throws was this past weekend. It's a lot of fun. Everyone brings a dish of some kind made with bacon. Last year I won with my bacon-pecan sweet potatoes (see previous post for recipe). This year, I didn't win the trophy, but I came in 4th place (out of about 20 dishes) with an easy bacon peach cobbler. I forgot to take a photo of it before I left the party, but here's the recipes, and it got RAVE reviews. And it's SUPER easy to make.

    • 1 large can of sliced peaches (I like the light syrup, but hubby likes it in heavy syrup), about 15 oz.
    • 1 box of white or yellow cake mix
    • 6 slices of bacon, diced and cooked (or use a half bag of Oscar Meyer real bacon pieces)
    • Cinnamon to taste
    • 1 stick of butter or margarine (I prefer using real butter)
    1. Preheat oven to 350 degree (F).
    2. Dump the peaches, liquid and all, into a 9 x 13 baking dish.
    3. Dump dry cake mix evenly over the top of peaches.
    4. Sprinkle cooked bacon over dry cake mix. Press down a little.
    5. Sprinkle top with cinnamon BEFORE doing next step.
    6. Cut butter into pats and place on top.
    7. Bake in 350 degree (F) oven for 50-60 minutes.
    8. Let cool slightly before serving. I like this served warm or cold. The mixture of cake mix and butter turns into a crunchy crust on top of the peaches. YUMMY!!!

    By the way, this is really good without the bacon too, but who doesn't like bacon???